Sergio Ramírez

Masatepe, Nicaragua, 1942. A Nicaraguan writer, journalist, politician and lawyer, he is an essential author of Latin American literature of the last 40 years and a key figure in Central American politics. After a long voluntary exile in Costa Rica and Germany, he temporarily abandoned his literary career to join the Sandinista Revolution that overthrew the dictatorship of the last Somoza. He was part of the National Reconstruction Governing Board that was created after the triumph of the Sandinista Revolution on July 19, 1979 and served as vice president under the mandate of Daniel Ortega until April 1990. He resumed his literary activity after winning the Alfaguara Award in 1998 with Margarita, está linda la mar. He is also the author, among others, of the following works: Sombras nada más (2002), A thousand and one deaths (2005), La fugitiva (2011), Flores oscuras (2013), Sara (2015) and the trilogy starring the inspector Dolores Morales, formed by The sky cries for me (2008), No one cries for me anymore (2017) and Tongolele did not know how to dance (2021). Among the awards he has obtained are the José Donoso Ibero-American Literature Award (2011), the Carlos Fuentes International Award (2014) and the Cervantes Award (2017).

Interview: Luisa Etxenike

Luisa Etxenike is a writer born in San Sebastian. She has published, among others: the novels Aves del paraísoAbsoluta presenciaEl detective de sonidosEl ángulo ciego (Euskadi Award), Los peces negrosVino; and the plays La herencia (Buero Vallejo Award), Gernika es ahora and La entrevista; and the poetry collection El arte de la pesca. She is the director of Canal Europa and she runs the literary festival Un mundo de Escritoras. She was awarded the distinction of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government.


Luisa Etxenike

21 min.


Open space for the spreading of knowledge